About

2018 is the year we’re taking on our biggest project yet!

Hi, thanks for visiting my blog. I’m Mrs.H (as on my social media) proper name Nicole; and our journey to where we are now has been a long and established one.

Having been with my now husband for coming up to 14 years this year, three children and two dogs later, we have bought, kept and sold our way through properties to get to the diamond in the rough we’re in now. It’s our forever home, one we’ll raise our children in. I for one know, I won’t be leaving, ever, not even to a nursing home. I’m staying put.

We’ve renovated before, but not on this scale. We’re now in a four bed, detached property. When we bought it, we only viewed the property once and put our offer in from there, the vision for what we are going to be doing stems from that first visit. We saw immediately how we could change it (hopefully for the better!)

Downstairs: The kitchen is not fit for purpose size wise, too small for the house. Yet the existing utility room is bigger?! There are walls separating every room downstairs, and we prefer open plan. Pluses are that each room has high ceilings and lovely antique high skirting boards. Has a downstairs WC (first time we’ve had one! Eek!). There’s also some lovely stained glass aspects.

Upstairs: There is a separate WC to bathroom, which doesn’t serve our needs, so we’re knocking through to make one family bathroom. Three decent size bedrooms and a box room, all being kept as is structurally. All off a split staircase.

The plan is to fully extend the rear of the house, approximately two thirds will be single storey creating an open plan kitchen, diner, lounge (merging with the existing dining room). The space will end up being an elongated L shape. One third will therefore be double storey creating a vaulted ceiling, gable ended fifth bedroom with walk in wardrobe and en suite.

So, stay tuned for everything ‘house to home’: renovation tips, places to source furnishings, interior design style inspo and lots more!

***

More about me personally, I’m a stay at home Mommy, packing my week with kiddie adventures and baby groups, seeing family and friends and walking the dogs. Trying to make the most of each day, carpe diem as they say!!! Adding to that, working on making our house a home 🏡

📍West Midlands, UK